In Colorado, DUI penalties
are extremely serious. A DUI
or DWAI (driving while ability impaired) conviction will negatively impact your life in a number of ways. It is vital that you work with a law firm, and a lawyer, who knows how to counter the prosecution's evidence and make strong arguments based on the specific facts of your case. At the Law Offices of Robert E. Ray
, our attorneys understand the potential DUI penalties. If there is a successful defense to your DUI, we will find it. If there isn't, we will fight to minimize the potential consequences.As part of the DUI penalties, the court shall require the defendant to complete and pay for an alcohol and drug evaluation. In addition, on second or subsequent DUI or DWAI offenses, the court must sentence the defendant to at least two years probation. As part of this probationary period, the court must impose a one-year suspended jail sentence. If you refused to submit to a breath or blood test
, your driver's license will be revoked for at least one year, in addition to other penalties that apply to your charge.Vehicular assault and vehicular homicide while under the influence of alcohol or drugs are class 4 and class 3 felonies, respectively. A vehicular homicide conviction will bring a mandatory prison sentence.
Current DUI penalties and DWAI in Colorado.
Contact The Law Offices Of Robert E. Ray
|Type Of Offense||Jail or Prison Time||Fine||Length of License Revocation||Public Service||Driver's License Points|
|DWAI - First||Two days to 180 days. If the defendant successfully completes an alcohol evaluation, the judge can suspend this sentence.||$200 to $500 (the court has discretion to suspend the fine.)||None||24-48 hours||8 points|
|First-Offense DUI||Five days to one year. If the defendant successfully completes an alcohol evaluation, the judge can suspend this sentence.||$600 to $1,000 (the court has discretion to suspend the fine.)||Nine months||48 to 96 hours||12 points|
|Second DUI or DWAI||10 days to one year||$600 to $1,500 (the court has discretion to suspend the fine.)||12 months||48 to 120 hours||8 points for DWAI, 12 points for DUI|
|Third or subsequent DUI or DWAI ||60 days to one year||$600 to $1,500 (the court has discretion to suspend the fine.)||24 months||48 to 120 hours||8 points for DWAI, 12 points for DUI|
|Underage DUI (.02 to .05 BAC)||None||$100||Three months, first offense.Six months, second offense. One year, third or subsequent offense.||No more than 24 hours||4 points|
Based in Greeley, we serve clients across Northern Colorado. Please complete our online contact form
or call 970-351-6083 to discuss your situation. For our clients' convenience, we are available on evenings and weekends by appointment. We also have a Spanish interpreter on staff.